Monday, November 24, 2008

A Little Dragon Breath doesn't smell... It STANKS (like James Brown, of course)!!!

Little Dragon- "After the Rain" Live @ Cafe Du Nord in SF 11/23/08

It's kind of funny that I haven't mentioned Little Dragon on the blog yet. In fact I can already name at least one person who is mad at me for not hipping them to the group or telling them about the show ahead of time...

I apologize. Even I didn't understand their complete importance until last night.

Ever since I got up on them about a year ago, I have been blown away. Their self-titled debut slaps from front to back, with influences spanning soul, hip hop, downtempo, dub, D&B, electronic, rock and jazz in a new fresh way, a perfect cocktail here in Trackademia.

Last night, I had the pleasure of checking them out for the first time at Cafe Du Nord in San Francisco.

The show was Amazing. Impactful. Minimal. Important.

I don't need to say too much about it. The crowd was crackin' (don't forget, the Bay still goes DUMB... Even at a Little Dragon show!). I haven't witnessed a band play together with this much ease in ages. And Yukimi is beautiful. There, I said it.

And to make it even better, during the intermission, they played Stereolab and LCD Soundsystem... A Perfect night for Trackademicks (that doesn't involved getting that @$$ or C@$SSSH).

Um, Yeah.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Download Little Dragon

1. Twice
2. Turn Left
3. No Love
4. Recommendation
5. Constant Suprises
6. Forever
7. After the Rain
8. Place to Belong
9. Stormy Weather
10. Test
11. Wink
12. Scribbled Paper